Monday, November 29, 1999

Champions League venues finalised

News posted by

Mumbai, Jun 17 (PTI) Matches in the September 10-26 Airtel Champions T20 League would be held in four grounds in South Africa - Wanderers in Johannesburg, St Georges Park in Port Elizabeth, Kingsmead in Durban and Centurion Park in Centurion. The decision to play the matches in four SA centres was taken by the Governing Council of the League headed by BCCI president Shashank Manohar, it was announced today. A total of 23 matches (the same number as 2009) would be held and the tournament format and match schedule would be decided at the next CLT20 Governing Council meeting on June 28 in Singapore, a media release said. Ten teams from six countries, including three from India, have qualified for the cash-rich tournament with the other seven teams from Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and the West Indies. IPL III champions Chennai Super Kings, runner-up Mumbai Indians and third placed Royal Challengers Bangalore would represent India in the tournament. The other teams in the line-up are: Victorian Bushrangers, South Australian Redbacks (both from Australia), Warriors, Highveld Lions (both from South Africa), Central Stags (New Zealand), Wayamba Elevens (Sri Lanka) and the West Indies domestic T20 champions (to be decided in July). CLT20 chairman Manohar said the Governing Council of the League was happy with the four venues recommended by Cricket South Africa. (More) PTI SSR AMA DB.

News posted by

Click here to read more news from
Please follow our blogs



No comments:

Post a Comment